March 2015

Playlists New music playlist 2015//13 The new music playlist for week 13 covers another pretty fantastic week of new releases across the usual wide spectrum of styles and sounds: from electropop to indie rock, from electronica to freak folk, RRP has you covered. >>
New music Idea The Artist – Seafloor Share Seafloor was the last of three singles released in advance of an album of the same name on March 24th by singer-songwriter InĂ©s Beltranena, as Idea The Artist. Using … >>
New music Lisa Alma – Fine Due for release next week, Fine is the latest single from Danish alt pop singer and song-writer Lisa Alma. Another track taken from her forthcoming album Sweater, it's further evidence that Alma is one of the most exciting new artists around. >>
20 songs Happiness is hard to pin down Last Friday was International Day of Happiness. In case you missed it while you were doing your best to stay ahead in the nasty, brutish, but never quite short enough rat race I've put together a playlist to act as a sort of seven-day delayed cure for the common chore. Anyway, how bad can work be? Everything is cool when you're part of a team... >>
New music Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – Step Brother City Step Brother City is the new single from the lengthily but brilliantly named Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin. Taken from their forthcoming album The High Country. It's a solid roller-coaster ride of power pop chords, hearty "woo-ooo"s and wry lyrics ("All the good songs and poems are all about you / And all the bad ones, too"). >>
New music Beach Baby – Bruise Bruise is the flipside to the frankly fantastic and song of the year contender (and so soon, too!), Ladybird, by Beach Baby. It rounds out a very impressive debut release for the London-based band. >>
New music Femme – S.O.S After a hat-trick of stellar singles from Femme, here comes a fourth in the shape of S.O.S. More brilliance, more big chorus, more production magic, more reason to love Femme before everyone else discovers her. >>
New music Slug – Greasy Mind Greasy Mind is a new single from Slug, the band formed by Ian Black, previously bass player with Field Music. While leaning to a degree on the angular art-rock of Field Music and its already existing offshoots, it still manages to forge an organic character of its own. >>
New music Strangely Alright – Come On The latest single from Strangely Alright, Come On fires on all power pop cylinders, in the process creating a rollicking kind of drive that's got a little bit of Feeder about it. >>
New music Cotton Claw – Grainy Grainy is the first taste of Volutes, the debut album from Cotton Claw. It's smooth, warm and alive in a way that you might not expect from music created by four producers and 64 pads. >>
Reviews Big Data – 2.0 Big Data, an all-star collaborative electronic music project helmed by producer Alan Wilkis, uses flashy electronics with a dark thematic tone. Big Data portrays a world of paranoia, and 2.0 is its first full length release; does the music live up to the concept? >>
New music Kid Astray – It’s Alright Kid Astray have already charmed us into submission with previous single Still Chasing Nothing. Today, the Norwegian 6-piece have repeated the trick (and then some) with their new single It's Alright. >>